Gotra Details


Maharaj Agrasen established the republican state of Agroha. Agroha consisted of 18 state units. The head of each state unit was given a Gotra. All the residents of that particular state unit were identified by that Gotra. It was maintained by Maharaj Agrasen that a nupital alliance could not take place in the same Gotra. That is a girl of “Goel” Gotra could not marry a “Goel boy”, but could be married in any of the other 17 Gotra. This rule enunciated by Maharaj Agrasen promoted harmony and brotherhood among all the 18 Gotra represented by state units. This facilitated promotion of unity and nationalism among the state units.



The Surname Agrawal was derived by taking ‘Agra’ from Agrasena and ‘wal’ (‘wal’originally being ‘bal’ was taken from the word Baalak meaning child). The word Agrawal effectively means Son of Agrasena. Many Agrawals have adopted their gotra name as their surname. Gupta is a common surname adopted by some Agrawal’s, and several partial Agrawal families like Gadia, Saini, Vishnoi and Varshney (majorly found in western Uttar Pradesh and are the progenies and followers of Sri Akrur Ji Maharaj). Varshney (or Barahseni) is a version of a name, first used by Arjuna to address Krishna in the Mahabharata Chapter 1, Shloka 41, Swami Sivananda translation). There is some debate over whether Varshneys belong to the Vaishya (merchants and artisans or Kshatriya (warriors, rulers and politicians) caste.In addition, many others use surnames linked with the place of their origin, for example Jhunjhunwala, Kedia, Gindodiya, Kalothia, Dokania, Lohia, Chamaria, Singhania etc. 

According to the legend, the Agrawal community developed twenty rules of conduct. Those who followed all the twenty rules were called Bisa Agrawal, those who followed only ten rules were called Dassa Agrawals, those who followed only five were called Punja Agrawals and so on. According to some sources, the dasa Agrawals are said to be the descendants of Agrawals through non-Agrawal wives